Irish team for European Athletics Championships

A huge Irish team of 52 has been named for next week’s European Athletics Championships in Amsterdam.

Marcus Lawler (St Laurence O’Toole) 200m
Brian Gregan (Clonliffe Harriers) 400m
Craig Lynch (Shercock) 400m
David Gillick (DSD) 400m
Richard Morrissey (Crusaders) 400m
Karl Griffin (UCD) 800m
Declan Murray (Clonliffe Harriers) 800m
Eoin Everard (Kilkenny City Harriers) 1500m
Kevin Batt (DSD) 5000m
Tomas Cotter (Dunleer) 3000m steeplechase
Ben Reynolds (North Down) 110m Hurdles
Paul Byrne (St Abban’s) 400m Hurdles
Thomas Barr (Ferrybank) 400m Hurdles
Barry Pender (St Abban’s) High Jump

Men’s 4x100m relay: Craig Lynch (Shercock), Eanna Madden (Carrick on Shannon), Jason Smyth (City of Derry), Jonathan Browning (Ballymena & Antrim), Joseph Owejumi (Tallaght), Marcus Lawler (SLOT)

Men’s 4x400m relay: Thomas Barr (Ferrybank), Andrew Mellon (North Down, Brian Gregan (Clonliffe Harriers), Craig Lynch (Shercock), David Gillick (DSD), Richard Morrissey (Crusaders)

Men’s Half Marathon: Sergiu Ciobanu (Clonliffe Harriers), Mick Clohisey (Raheny Shamrock), Mark Hanrahan (Leevale), Gary Murray (Clonliffe Harriers), Paul Pollock (Annadale Striders), Kevin Seaward (St Malachys)


Amy Foster (City of Lisburn) 100m
Claire Mooney (Naas) 400m
Sinead Denny (DSD) 400m
Siofra Cleirigh Buttner (DSD) 800m
Ciara Mageean (UCD) 1500m
Claire Tarplee (St Coca’s) 1500m
Mary Cullen (North Sligo) 5000m
Deirdre Byrne (Sli Cualann) 5000m
Fionnuala McCormack (Kilcoole) 10000m
Tara Jameson (Sli Cualann) 10000m
Michelle Finn (Leevale) 3000m steeplechase
Kerry O’Flaherty (Newcastle) 3000m steeplechase
Sara Treacy (Dunboyne) 3000m steeplechase
Christine McMahon (Ballymena & Antrim) 400m Hurdles
Tori Pena (Finn Valley) Pole Vault

Women’s 4x100m relay: Catherine McManus (DCH), Joan Healy (Bandon), Niamh Whelan (Ferrybank), Phil Healy (Bandon), Sarah Murray (Fingallians)

Women’s 4x400m relay: Christine McMahon (Ballymena & Antrim), Ciara McCallion (Clonliffe Harriers), Claire Mooney (Naas), Jenna Bromell (Emerald), Phil Healy (Bandon), Sinead Denny (DSD)

Women’s Half Marathon: Breege Connolly (North Belfast Harriers), Gladys Ganiel (North Belfast Harriers, Maria McCambridge (Dundrum South Dublin), Claire McCarthy (Leevale)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s