Crete to host European Team Championships

Heraklion on the island of Crete will host the 2015 European Athletics Team Championships First League.

It will be the first time an event of this magnitude will be held on the island and the first time the Hellenic Athletics Federation have been awarded an international championships since the 2009 IAAF World Athletics Final, which has since been consumed by the Diamond League. 

heraklionThe twelve nations competing will be Greece, Netherlands, Czech Republic, Turkey, Romania, Estonia, Ireland, Portugal, Belgium, Lithuania , Switzerland, Latvia.

The Dutch, Czech Republic and Turkey were all relegated from the Super League at the 2014 Championships, with Switzerland and Latvia promoted from the Second League.

Baku stages next year’s Third League as part of the inaugural European Games, where Ireland will be competing in women’s basketball having qualified through the 3×3 Championships last weekend.

Further information is on the SEGAS website.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s